City officials added 22 states with “restrictive abortion laws” to San Francisco’s blacklist, forbidding city employees from traveling to those places and making deals with businesses headquartered in those places.

City Administrator Naomi Kelly issued a memo to department heads and other high-level staffers Tuesday indicating the states had been placed on the city’s blacklist.

The move followed the passage of legislation introduced by Supervisor Vallie Brown this summer that curbs city-funded travel to states that restrict abortion before the viability of the fetus to live outside the womb, which include so-called “fetal heartbeat” laws. The city will also be prohibited from inking new contracts with businesses headquartered in those states.

“When we spend our money — our $12 billion-plus budget — we should spend it on what we stand for and our values,” said Brown.

The newly blacklisted states are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Full story at SF Chronicle.