Many Americans are justifiably outraged at the lives that will be shattered by the cancellation of DACA – but that same sentiment should extend to the unborn lives cut short by abortion, said Bishop Thomas J. Tobin of Providence, R.I.

In a Sept. 5 Facebook post entitled “Other Children Have Dreams Too,” Bishop Tobin noted that he and his fellow bishops have been clear in opposing President Donald Trump’s decision to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program (DACA). [statements from California bishops are below]

“The President’s decision is a terribly shortsighted approach to a very complex problem. It will cause enormous division in our country and will short-circuit the dreams of many children and young people who were brought to this great country by their parents seeking only security, peace and prosperity,” the bishop said.

“At the same time, I wonder about the stunning lack of concern and compassion for the many unborn children who also don’t have a chance to live in our country because their lives are terminated by the cruel and violent practice of abortion,” he continued.

“They don’t have legal protection either. Their dreams are short-circuited too,” Bishop Tobin said. “What happened to the consistent ethic of life? Where’s the outrage on their behalf? Where’s the Governor on this issue? Where’s our Congressional delegation?”

Full story at Catholic News Agency.

Statements from California bishops on President Trump’s decision to end DACA:

Archbishop José Gomez: “This is a national tragedy and a moral challenge to every conscience” 

Bishop Robert McElroy: “Untold families will be weeping

CCC: “DACA students are not the so-called “bad hombres,” an insidious label used to instill fear in others and feed racism and nativism” 

Bishop Gerald Barnes: “A continuation of the politics of division

Bishop Patrick McGrath: “We call upon Congress to pass laws that protect these young people

Archbishop Salvatore Cordileone: “DACA never was a permanent fix; that can only be accomplished by an act of Congress