This past Wednesday, the executive team for the National Eucharistic Congress announced it will be launching a National Eucharistic Pilgrimage in the summer of 2024. The pilgrimage will consist of four cross-country eucharistic processions, collectively traversing the entire continental United States over a two-month period….

The pilgrimage will begin during Pentecost, May 17–19, 2024, from four origin points: San Francisco in the west; Bemidji, Minnesota, from the north; New Haven, Connecticut, from the east; and Brownsville, Texas, from the south….

The four pilgrimage processions will ultimately converge in Indianapolis on July 16, 2024, to participate in the National Eucharistic Congress.

Though everyone is invited to join the pilgrimage, four dozen full-time pilgrims [ages 19 to 29] from each corner of the U.S. will make the entire journey….


Named the “Serra Route,” after St. Junipero Serra, the patron saint of California, the western route is the longest of the planned pilgrimages and will begin in San Francisco. The pilgrimage will then pass through Salt Lake City; Denver; Omaha, Nebraska; and St. Louis, before ending in Indianapolis.

For more information on the western route, click here.


Since this route will stop at the National Shrine of Our Lady of Champion — the first Marian apparition site in the U.S. — it has been dubbed the “Marian Route.” The northern pilgrimage will start from Bemidji, Minnesota, and pass through Minneapolis, Milwaukee, Chicago and Notre Dame, Indiana.

For more information on the northern route, click here.


The eastern route has been named the “Seton Route” after the first American-born saint to be canonized, Elizabeth Ann Seton. It will begin in New Haven, Connecticut, and pass through New York City; Philadelphia; Washington, D.C.; Pittsburgh; Steubenville, Ohio; Columbus, Ohio; and Cincinnati.

For more information on the eastern route, click here.


St. Juan Diego, to whom Our Lady of Guadalupe appeared in 1531, is the patron saint of the southern route. This pilgrimage will begin in the city of Brownsville at the far southern tip of Texas. The pilgrims on this route will then pass through Houston; New Orleans; Atlanta; Nashville, Tennessee; and Louisville, Kentucky, before converging with the other pilgrimages.

For more information on the southern route, click here.

If you are a young adult interested in applying to be a full-time pilgrim, email to be notified when the application goes live this summer.

More information on the revival can be found here.

To register to participate in the National Eucharistic Congress in Indianapolis July 17–21, 2024, click here.
From the National Catholic Register.