The signers of a May 13 letter which pressed the U.S. bishops’ conference to suspend its conversation on “Eucharistic coherence” include 47 diocesan bishops, five of whom are cardinals, along with 21 auxiliary bishops.

The letter and signatory list, sent May 13 to bishops’ conference president Archbishop Jose Gomez, urged that “all Conference wide discussion and committee work on the topic of Eucharistic worthiness and other issues raised by the Holy See be postponed until the full body of bishops is able to meet in person.”

“The serious nature of these issues — especially the imperative to forgo substantive unity — makes it impossible to address them productively in the fractured and isolated setting of a distance meeting,” the letter’s signatories wrote.

The text of the letter, obtained by The Pillar, together with the list of signatories, was independently confirmed by sources at the Vatican Secretariat of State and in the chanceries of several U.S. dioceses. It was transmitted to Gomez by email.

The letter addressed a vote scheduled for the USCCB’s upcoming June virtual assembly on the possibility of drafting a teaching document on “Eucharistic coherence.” If the bishops vote that a committee should draft the document, its actual text would be up for a vote of approval at a future meeting of the USCCB, at the earliest in November 2021….

The letter was sent to Gomez on letterhead from the Archdiocese of Washington. Washington’s archbishop, Cardinal Wilton Gregory, is reportedly among the letter’s principal authors, as is Cardinal Blase Cupich of Chicago. All seven of the Archdiocese of Chicago’s auxiliary bishops are identified as signatories to the letter, as are both of the auxiliary bishops for the Archdiocese of Washington….

List if signers

Diocesan Bishops

Cardinal Blase Cupich of Chicago

Cardinal Timothy Dolan* of New York

Cardinal Wilton Gregory of Washington

Cardinal Sean O’Malley, OFM Cap., of Boston

Cardinal Joseph Tobin, CSsR, of Newark

Archbishop Andrew Bellisario, CM, of Anchorage-Juneau

Archbishop Paul Etienne of Seattle

Archbishop Gustavo Garcia-Siller, MSpS of SAn Antonio

Archbishop Mitchell Rozanski of St. Louis

Archbishop Dennis Schnurr of Cincinnati

Archbishop John Wester of Santa Fe

Bishop Joseph Bambera of Scranton

Bishop Mark Bartchak of Altoona-Johnstown

Bishop Steven Biegler of Cheyenne

Bishop John Michael Botean of St. George in Canton for the Romanians

Bishop Frank Caggiano of Bridgeport

Bishop Randolph Calvo of Reno

Bishop Brendan Cahill of Victoria

Bishop Robert Coerver of Lubbock

Bishop Christopher Coyne of Burlington

Bishop Nicholas DiMarzio of Brooklyn

Bishop Timothy Doherty of Lafayette, IN

Bishop Ronald Hicks of Joliet

Bishop William Joensen of Des Moines

Bishop Donald Kettler of St. Cloud

Bishop Joseph Kopacz of Jackson

Bishop Robert McElroy of San Diego

Bishop Michael McGovern of Belleville

Bishop Shawn McKnight of Jefferson City

Bishop William Medley of Ownesboro

Bishop Michael Mulvey of Corpus Christi

Bishop David O’Connell, CM of Trenton

Bishop Richard Pates, Apostolic Administrator of Crookston

Bishop Lawrence Persico of Erie

Bishop Mark Seitz of El Paso

Bishop Michael Sis of San Angelo

Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv., of Lexington

Bishop Anthony Taylor of Little Rock

Bishop David Toups of Beaumont

Bishop Geroge Thomas of Las Vegas

Bishop Louis Tylka, Coadjutor Bishop of Peoria

Bishop Joseph Tyson of Yakima

Bishop Joe Vasquez of Austin

Bishop Michael Warfel of Great Falls-Billings

Bishop Edward Weisenburger of Tucson

Bishop Thomas Zinkula of Davenport

Bishop Patrick Zurek of Amarillo

Auxiliary bishops

Bishop Mark Bartosic, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop Ramon Bejarano, Auxiliary of San Diego

Bishop Kevin Birmingham, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop Michael Boulette, Auxiliary of San Antonio

Bishop Roy Campbell Jr., Auxiliary of Washington

Bishop Robert Casey, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop Manuel Cruz, Auxiliary of Newark

Bishop John Dolan, Auxiliary of San Diego

Bishop Mario Dorsonville-Rodriguez, Auxiliary of Washington

Bishop Eusebio Elizondo, MSpS, Auxiliary of Seattle

Bishop Jeffrey Grob, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop Gary Janak, Auxiliary of San Antonio

Bishop J. Gregory Kelly, Auxiliary of Dallas

Bishop Elias Lorenzo, OSB, Auxiliary of Newark

Bishop Robert Lombardo, CFR, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop John Manz, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop Joseph Perry, Auxiliary of Chicago

Bishop Mark Rivituso, Auxiliary of St. Louis

Bishop Michael Saportio, Auxiliary of Newark

Bishop Gregory Studerus, Auxiliary of Newark

Bishop Andrew Wypych, Auxiliary of Chicago

The above comes from a June 7 posting by The Pillar.