Vice President Mike Pence cast the deciding vote in the Senate Thursday to advance a measure allowing states to once more have the freedom to avoid funding Planned Parenthood clinics with federal “family planning” grants.  

The vote was “a victory for all Americans who don’t want to see their tax dollars subsidizing the abortion industry and its ghoulish trafficking in aborted baby’s organs,” Maureen Ferguson, senior policy advisor with The Catholic Association, stated on Thursday.

At issue is a rule created by the Obama administration last December which forbade states to withhold Title X “family planning” grants to Planned Parenthood clinics on account of the fact that they perform abortions. States had been instead looking to fund other health clinics.

On Thursday, the Senate was voting to advance a joint resolution of disapproval that already passed the House. It would cancel the HHS rule.

With Republican Sens. Lisa Murkowski (Alaska) and Susan Collins (Maine) joining Democrats in opposing the repeal, the vote was evenly divided 50-50 before Pence broke the tie and voted for its advancement.

“We are so grateful that Vice President Mike Pence, who began the battle to defund the Planned Parenthood abortion corporation when he was a Congressman, traveled up Pennsylvania Avenue to cast the tie-breaking vote in defense of human dignity and babies lives,” Ferguson stated.

Full story at Catholic News Agency.

Post-surgery, he came to Senate floor on a walker to vote against Planned Parenthood

The following comes from an email from one of our readers:

This pro-life hero is Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), who is recovering from back surgery and hadn’t voted in the Senate since February 17.

His pro-life vote on March 30 saved legislation to overturn lame-duck Obama’s ukase that required state governments to keep funding the abortion giant Planned Parenthood.

Sen. Isakson’s vote forced a 50-50 tie, which VP Mike Pence then broke with a vote in favor of undoing lame-duck Obama’s gift to PP. The pro-life legislation now goes to President Trump to sign into law.